currylove

Arranging Marriages – part 3

Posted on: March 15, 2012

Mom called just as I was leaving the gym – she gave me some family gossip and we were just chatting and laughing about some stuff. Then she goes, “How are things going with Z?”

I told her the truth – that he called a few days ago and I need to call him back. I’m in no rush partly because I just don’t give a fuck and partly because he took his sweet time getting in touch with me, why should I be in such a hurry?

But then she said, “You have to hurry up – this is causing a lot of problems between me and your dad. He thinks it’s your fault you two haven’t progressed and I defend you, then he yells at me.”

I asked how he thinks this is my fault and she said “He just thinks that. Like your uncle said, any boy that doesn’t want you – it’s his loss. But you need to hurry and figure this out. Now that Z has a job, he might be ready.” And then she got another call, so we hung up.

Fucking hell. I already feel guilty every day that I’m not married. Not for me but for them. And I knew it caused problems between them, because she’s told me before. But I’d kinda hoped they were over that. I guess not.

I don’t know what they expect…well, I do, actually. They expect that by summer I’ll be married. I guess it’s possible. I may never be happy, but at least I’ll be married.

4 Responses to "Arranging Marriages – part 3"

What a briliant blog, it’s honest, frank and a little troubling – your closing line in this piece is so hard that it’s frightening “I may never be happy, but at least I’ll be married”. I guess I’m a good bit older than you but for me the line would read “I was married, it didn’t work, but now at least I am happy.”
Keep writing.

Wow – thanks! I truly never thought that anyone would read my dumb thoughts, much less like reading them! I appreciate your comment on where you are now – I’m sorry the marriage didn’t work out, but I am very glad you’re happier.

Hey!! I’m a statistic too!! Single. Indian. Girl. In her 30’s & can’t find a NORMAL guy to get married too! I totally agree with your sentiment – Boys are so DUMB! haha 🙂

Anyhow, I think you have a brilliant way of writing..Some of your posts have me tearing up as we’ve all been through some rough relationships…& others laughing hysterically! 🙂 You’ve got a gift in writing..keep at it! ..& don’t forget to keep smiling!! Happiness is out there for us all…. 🙂

Wow!! Seriously, thanks for reading!!! I’m sorry you’ve had to go through the same crappy stuff though 😉 I agree – even if we are miserable now, there will be happiness. It’s just getting there that’s the fun/not-so-fun part 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

Archives

