currylove

Zanzibar – Part 1

Posted on: April 24, 2012

I’ve been in a crap mood so I thought I’d post some pics to cheer myself up… hope you like them too 🙂  They were taken the beginning of Dec 2011 – the irony is I cried through that whole trip because I knew British and I were ending – but the pics do make me happy. Go figure.

 

Dhows lined up on shore

My boat to get to Prisoner Island -- So, I signed up to go on a Spice Tour and this boat tour by myself. Nobody knew where I was, who I was with or what I was doing. Just me and two guides on the boat. They could've sold me to pirates, and seriously, nobody would've known for 2 days (this was Saturday) - I didn't really think about the possible danger until I was on the boat, by which point was too late, so I figured what's the worst that's gonna happen? Just trusted them and said a prayer. Things turned out ok, but after that, I ALWAYS at least email someone to give them my travel details!! I am super stupid sometimes.

The way locals travel

My view heading to Prisoner Island

The fat one in the back got stuck and didn't get out until the keepers came and pushed him out! hahahah

Up close - the tortoises had numbers on their backs which reflected their age. They went up to 100+!!! Super cool.

Prisoner Island was a stop on the slave route. This is a bathroom now, but the link on the floor was where the slaves were chained : (

To end on a happier note, this was my view of low-tide at lunch back at the hotel. So pretty.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

Archives

