currylove

Arranging Marriages – Part 11 (aka, My dad loves Z’s dad…still)

Posted on: May 31, 2012

Seriously, those two should just get married. Talked to my parents today and I’d been avoiding this call cause I didn’t want to get into a fight about Z. How this stupid boy is causing fights between me and my parents is beyond me. It’s actually really fucking annoying.

Also – something to know before you read this. My dad has selective hearing. He’s had it for as long as I can remember. I’ll call for him from one room to fix something and he will absolutely tune me out, but if I tell my mom gossip 3 blocks away in a whisper that I don’t want him to know, he overhears everything. It’s this weird special skill he has.

SO… Dad says, “Did you see the email?”

Me: “Yes, I saw it. And I called Z right away and I haven’t heard from him.”

Dad: “You called him?”

Me: “Yes.”

Dad: “You mean, after this last email? ”

Me: “What? Yes! TWO DAYS AGO. I CALLED HIM.”

Dad: “Oh, ok. So when did you call him?”

Me: “DAD! RIGHT AFTER YOU EMAILED ME! THAT SAME DAY!”

Dad: “Why didn’t you say that?”

Me: (to myself – holy fuck) – to Dad – “I DID! I SAID THAT! Anyway, he didn’t call me back.”

Dad: “Ok, so should I call his dad? We get along really well. We’re on the same page.”

Me: siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh – “Sure, call him, do whatever, but I’m done.”

Dad: “So next time you come home, should we go visit Z?”

Me: “DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD!  NO! I’m DONE! I am NOT chasing this boy who’s not interested!!!”

MOM!: “She’s right. Beta [this means child, but more lovingly, like sweetheart] – I agree with you. If he can’t even call, we aren’t that desperate for you.”

Dad: “But he was somewhere else for training”

Me: “So, he couldn’t email? Text-mext [as my mom calls texting]? Call? Message? That’s SUCH AN EXCUSE.”

Dad: “Ok, I’ll talk to his dad.”

This wasn’t the full convo – I told them how all boys are like this and useless and use this ‘talking’ thing as a cover so they don’t actually have to deal with their parents yelling at them, while all us girls are honest and upfront and we’re told we’re not trying hard enough. Ugh. I have this awful feeling that this still isn’t going to be the end of it.

So then, I talked to my sister and I told her that me, mom and dad had talked about Z…. and she (somewhat randomly) goes, “So, you don’t think he’s putting the ball back in your court?”

HOLY MOTHER OF GOD. What court? What ball?!  I’m playing tennis and he’s playing basketball. We’re not even in the same place! Fucking hell.

I’m going home with my sister next week to surprise my parents, and I’m really glad they don’t know we’re coming so they don’t have any time to 1) spring a visit on me with Z or 2) with Z and his whole family or 3) arrange our ‘surprise’ wedding. 😉

2 Responses to "Arranging Marriages – Part 11 (aka, My dad loves Z’s dad…still)"

Lol, that’s what you think! If you’re going for more than a day they could arrange a visit later in the week or if they’re in more of a hurry… a Skype date. Be prepared! 😉 You know what parents are like when they think they’ve found the perfect guy for you!

I know!!! I am a *little* worried, but hoping their grandkids keep them preoccupied 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers

Archives

