currylove

Thank God for my iPod

Posted on: November 5, 2012

I was home for two weeks for my brother’s wedding (possible post coming up later… I haven’t decided if I’m going to write about it yet) and on the way down, my sister and the kids came to my place and we drove home together.

8.5 hours with 2 kids aged 6 and 4. It wasn’t that bad actually. They were awake till the Florida border, and then both passed out till we got home. For the first half of the ride though, we chatted, we played “I spy” games and told the WORST knock knock jokes ever:

Knock Knock?
Who’s there?
Atch.
Atch-who?
Bless you!

Ha. Yeah, about 4 hours of that. It was awesome.

But after the wedding and the fun, my sister flew back to her house on Saturday, and I said goodbye (and my parents both cried) and drove back to Atlanta alone. Just me, my iPod on shuffle and 7 hours on the road (I could eliminate the extra stops needed with the kids).

I kinda loved it. I turned the volume up, sang my heart out and went through a race of memories that I hadn’t thought about in a long time. And then, when I heard a specific song, it all came flooding back like that instant had just happened  – the good and the not so good:

Adele’s “Don’t You Remember” made me think of British and how I would just bawl, even before we ended, because of never knowing what he was thinking. I didn’t cry when I heard it yesterday, but the pain was palpable still. It just transported me back to those feelings of uncertainty and heartache.

U2’s “Bad” reminded me of my first love – we had such an amazing time at a U2 concert, and I thought of a friend who sang/danced in the aisle when they played this song. It made me smile thinking about it.

I’ve always really liked The Kink’s “Come Dancing” but now it resonates even more as I get older and see the things I knew in childhood fade away.  I may have teared up a bit. Same with Dixie Chicks “Wide Open Spaces” – especially since I had just bid my parents goodbye.

Eye of the Tiger” (yes, I have that on my iPod and I’m proud of it) reminds me of jogathons at elementary school and this song blaring through the sound system as me and my friends ran around a field.

It’s no surprise that music and emotions are connected – there’s been enough research on that through the years. But it can still be jarring when there’s such a visceral reaction to a song, long after the initial moment ended. I didn’t expect to cry with certain songs, or laugh with others, or have such vivid memories of where I was, who I was with, what I was doing when I heard a song… but I did. And I liked it.

7 Responses to "Thank God for my iPod"

You have awesome taste in music too!

Thanks!!!! It’s rather… eclectic. 😉

Ahh so is mine. Still makes you pretty cool.

Its bittersweet ! I get the same way listening to music …. 🙂 Xx

It’s amazing how it’s the same for everyone the world over!! Loving your baby posts 🙂

Love the variety of music!

– K.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers

Archives

