currylove

It finally happened…

Posted on: November 16, 2012

I called my sister yesterday to say “Sal Mubarak” (Happy New Year) for the Hindu New Year, which happens soon after Diwali.

My 6 year old niece got on the phone so I could wish her a happy new year, and I swear this was the following conversation:

Me: “Sal Mubarak! What are you doing?”

Her: “Happy  New Year! I’m playing with my dah”  … I had no clue what she was saying. In my ear, I heard “Dah” but obviously that means nothing. SO….

Me: “What? You’re playing with what?”

Her: “MY DAH” – yelling it.

Me: “What? OH! Your dad?!?! You’re playing with your dad? Give him the phone so I can say Sal Mubarak to him.”

Her: “NO! MY DAH! I’M PLAYING WITH MY DAAAHHHHHHHHH” – she tried to enunciate. But it wasn’t helping. By this point, I was laughing so hard, I couldn’t stop.

Me: “Honey… I still don’t understand”

Her: “MY DDDDDAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHYYYYYYYYYYY”

So…. I thought she said DADI – which means paternal grandmother.

Me: “OH! Wait – how are you playing with your Dadi?? She’s in India – are you skyping her???”

Her: “NO!! I AM PLAYING WITH MY D-O-G!!!! MY DOGGY!!!!!!”

Me (laughing SO hard now because I just made a 6-year old spell something out): “OHHHHHHH!!! Wait – when’d you guys get a dog??”

Her (SUPER FRUSTRATED but at least giggling): “NO! IT’S MY STUFFED ANIMAL! I’M GIVING IT TO MOMMY.”

By the time my sister got the phone, both of us where in hysterics. As I told my sister, thank god she can spell otherwise we’d STILL be having this damn conversation.

And that’s when I realized…. it happened….I’ve turned into my Dad.

 

2 Responses to "It finally happened…"

Too funny! I’m not sure which parent I take after when I can’t hear, since they both have trouble, but I’m pretty sure I’m destined to live my own version of the scenario you just described. lol

It was karma for sure, considering I’d just been annoyed at my dad for not being able to hear me just 24 hours before! hahaha 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers

Archives

