currylove

Arranging Marriages – Part 22 (aka, Still??)

Posted on: December 4, 2012

Yesterday I was chatting with my parents (both parents, 2 phones, 1 semi coherent conversation) and my mom asks: “Has that boy, S, emailed you?”

I honestly had no fucking clue who she was talking about. After she jogged my memory on who this guy is (some boy who one of my mom’s friends was playing matchmaker for), I had to tell her it didn’t matter – I had no emails from him.

Mom: “But he told Auntie that he emailed you twice.”

Me: “Well… I have no emails from him. So either he got my address wrong or he’s lying.”

Mom: “What email did your dad pass along? Maybe he has an old one???”

And this was pretty much when I wanted to reach through the phone and smack her. She STILL assumes these boys tell the truth, even though I have pointed out multiple times THEY DON’T.  She STILL believes it when she’s told that the wrote an email, even though I have no emails from him. She STILL thinks that these guys are legitimately interested in getting married and they aren’t.

Back to our conversation, though- Me: “Mom! I only have ONE EMAIL ADDRESS. I”VE HAD IT FOR TEN YEARS OR MORE.”

Dad butts in at this point: “Yeah, I gave him the right one. He didn’t get a wrong email address.”

Mom: “Ok, well, he said he emailed twice.”

Me: “WHY ARE YOU BELIEVING THIS RANDOM BOY?!?!??!?!?!?!?”

Sooooooo…….. today, I get a call from them again.

Mom: “Auntie says if you get an email from him, you should ignore it.”

Me: “I’m never getting an email from this boy, but fine, I’ll ignore it. Why?”

Mom: “He doesn’t have a job.”

And then Dad butts in: “Yeah, Uncle said he’s gotten fat and since he got laid off hasn’t done anything. He said he was doing consulting from home but that’s what everyone says when they’re just sitting at their computer. Oh, and his dad’s an alcoholic – that part we knew though. He’s been taking drink for a long time.”

OMG! THEY WANTED ME TO WAIT FOR AN EMAIL FROM AN UNEMPLOYED FAT CHILD OF AN ALCOHOLIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fucking. Hell.

Facepalm-300x280

 

 

 

3 Responses to "Arranging Marriages – Part 22 (aka, Still??)"

I think I may be falling in love with your parents. 🙂 They sound so funny and sweet and well, clueless. Hope you’re doing well with the training!!
x

LOL… everyone who meets my parents LOVES them. They’re all sorts of awesome, even though it’s taken me awhile to figure that out 😉 I love them, but love them more when they’re not nagging me to death!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

Archives

