currylove

Kids say the darndest things – Part 1

Posted on: December 24, 2012

Although we’re Hindu, we grew up celebrating Christmas. We did the whole secular shebang – put out milk and cookies (and sometimes spicy Indian snacks because Mom said Santa would be tired of eating all the sweet stuff and he’d want something different), put up a tree, wrote our letters, made ornaments in school, etc.

We celebrated until we got old enough to have to pull the tree and ornaments out of storage ourselves, and Dad said he wasn’t going to do it anymore… and then laziness took over.  We put up a wreath and minimal paraphernalia, but didn’t really do the whole ‘tree thing’ anymore.

But now that my sister’s kids (my niece (6) and nephew (4)) are the perfect age to celebrate, we’ve all gotten back in the spirit. I’ve spent Christmas with my sister in the past, but I just saw them in November for my brother’s wedding and I don’t have the time off that I would need to go visit properly.

Enter Skype.

We group skype all the time. And tomorrow morning, at 830am, we have a whole family skype date to watch them open presents:

1) Me
2) My sister and the family in the midwest
3) My brother and his wife up north
4) My parents in Florida

I cannot wait – they are SO excited about Santa’s visit – putting out chocolate chip cookies and chocolate milk (cold, because Santa doesn’t like it warm).

So today, when I was skyping with just the kids (and they’re still in their pajamas), I asked where my sister was:

Nephew: “She’s in the shower.”

Me: “She’s taking a shower and you guys are still stinky in your PJs??? That’s not fair!”

Nephew: “Yeah. We’re always stinky. She doesn’t have time to give us a bath.”

I totally bust out laughing…”What! She never gives you a bath??”

Nephew: “Yeah! I told you! SHE DOESN’T HAVE TIME!”

My sister came out just then and I told her that I got the full scoop on how she keeps them dirty and she just sighs and obviously points out that it’s not the truth. Like I really believed him, but you know, at least she clarified. 😉

A few weeks ago, I was chatting with my sister and I asked to speak to my niece, who’d just got back from school. She declined and I hear my nephew yelling at her in the background:

“YOU HAVE TO TALK TO MASI!!! YOU HAVE TO! IF YOU DON’T, SANTA WILL PUT YOU ON THE NAUGHTY LIST!!!!!!!”

Oh! And a couple of days before that, I asked what the asked for in their letters to Santa:

Nephew: “I want EVERY toy in the WHOLE WORLD!”

Me: “Um… where are you gonna put those? Every toy’s not going to fit in the house!”

Nephew: “In the garage. Daddy can move his cars.”

Ha! That is totally not happening.

So my niece, last year, asked for ice skates. My sister, as Santa, wrote her a letter saying she’d get ice skates after she took skating lessons.

Fast forward to this year:

Me: “What’d you write in your letter?”

Niece:

“I didn’t write a letter!! Santa already knows what I want from last year. He said if I took lessons, he’d give me ice skates. So now he’ll bring me ice skates ’cause I did what he said!! So he already knows…”

Man. Her memory is like an elephant’s!  Luckily for my sister, my nephew did change his mind on wanting every toy:

“I just want a fire truck, with a hose that sprays water. And anything else that Santa wants to bring me is ok!”

And with that… I hope you all managed to get on the naughty or nice list, wherever you wanted to be. I hope you get everything you wished for, and I hope for a happy and healthy holiday season for you and your family.  🙂

Merry Christmas to all… and to all a Good Night.

 

santa

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers

Archives

