currylove

Adventures in Personal Training – Part 2

Posted on: January 17, 2013

Last night, after finishing up a really good workout with my loud trainer, we went to schedule our next meeting.

As we’re doing so, I tell him that I haven’t noticed any weight loss. His response was that I should be looking at body fat percentage, not weight.

So I took this as my segue into telling him how I feel about the size of my boobs and that they contribute to my overall body fat percentage AND that since they are so big, and always have been so big, that I don’t think they should contribute to my baseline percentage. Basically, they’re not going away – they’ve always been as big as they are.  It’s been about 15 years with them, I don’t gain or lose in my chest and I don’t think it’s fair that they mathematically count against me.

So I told him, in a quiet voice, that obviously my breasts are rather large and they don’t change size, and that perhaps we should take that into account, because I would never lose the amount of body fat he wants me to.

His response? SUPER LOUDLY: “ARE THEY PART OF YOUR BODY????”
Me: “Yes…”
Him: “WELL THEN THEY CONTRIBUTE TO YOUR FAT!!!”
Me: “Yeah, I understand, but I’m trying to tell you that they don’t change. They are always like this.”

His response? SUPER LOUDLY: “GIRLS ARE ALWAYS COMPLAINING! IF THEY’RE BIG, THEY WANT THEM SMALL. AND IF THEY’RE SMALL, THEY WANT THEM BIG!”

I was SO PISSED. First of all, that’s not what I’m saying and secondly, SHUT THE FUCK UP. I don’t need the whole gym to know we’re talking about my damn boobs.

So I told him that: “Could you quit yelling my shit out loud? It’s embarrassing. Also, we’re not on the same page, so we can stop this discussion anyway.”

That got to him, and we finally talked about MY body and what I thought was the problem. He apologized for being so fucking loud. Did he not see me turning bright red? It’s one thing to talk about my boobs in a bar. It’s another to make it the loudest conversation in a gym.

He did say, though, that he would research it and talk to a female trainer to see what her thoughts were. That’s fine, and I was happy with that – we confirmed for Saturday. After I got home, we texted a little bit back and forth after and he apologized profusely for being such a loud asshole: “You’re not the first to tell me I’m loud. I’m so sorry. I have a tendency to holler”

My response: “You can holler at me when I have bad form, but not when we’re talking about my boobs.”

It’s embarrassing enough to have to discuss this with someone I don’t know very well. But then, on top of all of that, I have to worry that he’s going to broadcast it to the entire fucking gym. And honestly, given that everyone’s got an iPod in their ears, they probably don’t care… but I do.

I’ll see him Saturday for my leg workout and talk to him then, let’s see how quiet he is  😉

 

 

3 Responses to "Adventures in Personal Training – Part 2"

Sounds like a case of the ol’ all brawn and no brains ! Xx

I was just thinking of you! How are things going?!?!?

Nearly there , about 5 weeks to go .. bit scary but I’m excited !!! Xx

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers

Archives

