currylove

Arranging Marriages – Part 23 (aka, WHY ARE WE STILL DOING THIS)

Posted on: January 26, 2013

Just because I haven’t blogged about this in awhile doesn’t mean they’ve stopped trying. In one of the latest attempts, the go-between was a family friend of ours, who is also friends with the boy’s family. Fine, whatever. About a month ago, I got the boys information from his mom – a basic biodata, with pictures. The biodata contained his email address, so I emailed him, as I’m supposed to do.

A few weeks went by and my mom asks me if I really emailed him – I assured her I had, and she said that the boy had told his mom that he didn’t get anything, so could I send it again.

Liar liar, pants on fire.

But, fine. I sent it again. What’s the situation a few weeks later? He tells his mom that he still hadn’t received anything. What. The. Fuck. At this point, I’m annoyed and told my parents that they clearly have my information, so if he’s THAT interested, he can email me. I didn’t get any bouncebacks or other errors, so what am I supposed to do?  I, of course, have never heard from him.

I hadn’t thought much about it until today, when my dad says that his mom was asking our family friends about what’s going on. I was driving around and trying to find parking for happy hour and lost it.

Me: “Why can’t he just email me if he’s so interested?”

Dad: “Yeah, that’s what I said. He doesn’t have to wait for you. They have your information.”

Me: “Yes! Exactly! Besides, he’s either gay or has a girlfriend. I’m tired of this and don’t want to talk to him.”

Dad: “THAT’S WHAT I THOUGHT!!!! I thought the same thing when he was going to Brazil with his parents. What 37 year old boy wants to go to BRAZIL with his mommy and daddy? It’s different to go to Africa, like WE did, but Brazil? That’s weird. I think he’s gay.”

Me and Mom (both): “Um…. he went on a family trip, it’s totally cool. It’s not that weird, actually.”

Dad: “No, it is weird. Africa’s fine, but Brazil? He should’ve gone alone.”

By this time, I’d parked and could not stop laughing.

And then, out of Dad’s mouth comes this gem: “Don’t worry. It’ll happen when it’s supposed to.”

Me (actually yelling): “I’m not the one who’s worried!!! You guys are!!!! I’m fine!!!!”

And by that point, I had luckily reached my destination, so this conversation ended. Sigh…. I love my parents so much, and for their own sake, I wish this was easier, but it’s not and we all have to deal with these dumbasses.

 

7 Responses to "Arranging Marriages – Part 23 (aka, WHY ARE WE STILL DOING THIS)"

Lol… Your parents remind me of mine!! My mum had a friend (Auntyji) who lives in London & I got set up on some ill-fated blind dates five years ago, these included a very short guy and a guy who made shrek look like Brad Pitt.

My mother, who is the eternal optimist & describes even the dodgiest looking guys as “smart” couldn’t deny the shrek guy was a rotter… Thankfully she didn’t enlist this Auntyji’s assistance in finding me a husband again lol 🙂

OMG! I can’t just come out and say that I don’t want this Uncle/Auntie helping me, but at the same time… I kind of wish they wouldn’t! LOL. As the saying goes – I can do bad all by myself – that part I don’t need help with! 😉

Lol! Yes of course – going Brazil with your parents when you’re 37 years old signifies your sexual preference – of course!! 🙂

That might rank up there as the funniest thing my dad has EVER said 🙂

Hah! I love the fact that though parents can be incredibly frustrating and pushy about things, they can also be so sweet! Love your dad’s comments about Africa and Brazil — totally had me laughing like crazy!
xoxoxox,
Lar

Wait till you read the followup!!! 😉 And yes… of course a 37 year old man who goes to Brazil with his family is gay. What other option would there be?!?!?!?! 😉

Oh! AND! I was driving in DECATUR then trying to find parking and missed TWO spots because of this conversation. I was irritated on multiple accounts, but mostly because of losing parking there 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers

Archives

