currylove

My own business

Posted on: January 26, 2013

I’ve wanted to start my own company for a long time now…. I’ve finally started doing the research and today I talked to my manager about it. I was nauseous even getting through the conversation but he was amazing. Nothing but supportive and kind…

I told him about how so many people have come to me in the past few months, looking for me or someone exactly like me, to help them with projects – and it got me thinking even more, why should I help some company make a profit when it’s not the company they want, it’s my expertise that they seek? Why shouldn’t I use this to my own advantage, instead of for someone else’s?

I’m worried about so many things. What if I do the research and realize that it’s not something I want to do? After all this talk about it, would I look like a jackass if I didn’t start something on my own? He assured me I wouldn’t. That even if he was managing me 2 years from now, he’d be happy if I was happy.

What if I crash and burn and have to go crawling back because I couldn’t make it on my own? He said it’d be fine, because he knows I wouldn’t burn any bridges on my way out and if I needed to come back, they’d welcome me with open arms.

What if I suck? What if I can’t do the things I think I can? He said I would never know until I tried, and until then I would always wonder.

What if the opportunities I think exist actually don’t? What then? He said then at least I would’ve tried and would know why things didn’t work.

What am I doing? Who gives up a job that pays incredibly well, with benefits, to try to start their own company? Am I being stupid? He said I should make sure to cover my costs, but that I should still try.

I told him that if I never try, I would always wonder how good I could’ve been at what I do – I’m better than what I do now, but I don’t know exactly how good I am. And he said I should find out, to be happy with myself.

He said he saw in me a drive that wouldn’t be quieted even with more money or a different position in the company. He said he knew I had to try to find myself, because otherwise I would never be satisfied.

I assured him it wasn’t about the money – and he said he knew that. I told him I had to try to make something of myself that was better than I am now – and he said he knew that.

I told him this had nothing to do with the company or him or anything but my own desire and determination. And he said he knew that.

He asked me what I was so scared of, and when I told him it was failure and disappointment in me, he asked who I thought would be judging – he said it would never be him, or any of the other managers, because they know me and know I would’ve tried my best.

I knew he’d be open to hearing me out, but I didn’t know how supportive he would be. It means so much to me that he believes in me and sees in me something that I see in myself, and honestly, as much as I want to succeed for myself and my family, I want to make him proud too – I want him to be able to say, “Yeah, she was one of mine. I told her to go for it — Look at her now.”

The problem with my job and skill-set is that until you have it, you don’t really know you need it. It’s not something that a lot of people think about up-front, but if it’s not taken into account, things can be pretty disastrous.  So now, I just need to find out how to get people to understand how important I actually am. 😉

8 Responses to "My own business"

People are already coming to you so they know you’re important 🙂
Just be aware though – when you have your own business there’s no switching off and thinking someone else can handle it. It’s your baby and you worry when you’re not there. That’s the biggest down-side I can see. It’s not for me (I’d prefer freelance) but I can see the attraction. Good luck with it!

I agree that’s a HUGE worry, but I think I’m ready. Let’s see if it actually happens 😉

I hear from so many people who regret decisions they have made, whether that is in choosing a career, buying a house they could not afford or investing in GM stock. But what should we do with our “mistakes.” Is there really any other way to learn how to do the right things and ultimately find the success we are seeking?

Here’s what Robert Kiyosaki (Rich Dad Poor Dad) has to say about “bad luck.” He says, “Making mistakes and becoming smarter is the job of an entrepreneur; not making mistakes is the job of an employee.”

So if you want to avoid making mistakes, just keep your job as an employee. If you want to join the exciting ranks of entrepreneurs who are living out their passions and making extraordinary income, then step up to the plate and make more mistakes.

The secret of making mistakes isn’t to avoid ever making one again – it’s to recognize that making a mistake is not fatal! They are necessary stepping stones on your path to success.

Thanks!!! I appreciate you taking the time to comment and I agree – mistakes aren’t such a bad thing, as long as you learn from them! 🙂

Congratulations, CL! I know this takes so much courage — and that totally doesn’t mean you won’t be scared shitless along the way. But I do agree — trying is the important thing. It doesn’t matter if it doesn’t work (which it will — so don’t worry) — the most important thing is that you went for it. I totally agree with your manager when he said you won’t be satisfied if you don’t.
Let us know how it goes. Doing something like this is so inspirational!
xoxox,
Lar

Thanks, Lar!!! I agree – the most important thing is feeling I tried my best 🙂

Congrats on having the conversation! Fear is a valid emotion, but I hear and others know, you have a talent. Thank you for sharing your story as I am also working to start my business but feel as though others think I should get over it and get a (paying job). I’m trying to be realistic but still not give up.

BTW, even if you fall down, that isn’t failing. If you never try…well, you know the rest. Take care and keep us posted!

Thank you!!!!! I really appreciate the comment and the support!! It means a lot 🙂 I wish you the best of luck as well! It’s scary but exciting, even if I’m just in the ‘discussion’ phase right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers

Archives

