currylove

Adventures in Personal Training – Part 5 (aka, Ummm… You’re what??)

Posted on: February 13, 2013

So I had my 12th session today – that’s 12 30-minute sessions. We’ve spent 6 hours together, talking about random stuff. Tonight we chatted about an upcoming vacation:

Him: “I’m heading to Vegas in May.”

Me: “That’s cool – boys trip?”

Him: “Um… no, friends.”

Later on, during tricep dips, we were just chatting about our weekends, and I asked him something about the trip, and I can’t remember what it was because of his answer:

Well… um… I’m … getting married in July.

WHAT?!?!?!?!

I knew he had a DOG before I knew he had a fucking fiance.

Luckily,  I didn’t have a weight in my hand because I would’ve dropped it. I mean, at no point did he ever say, “Oh, me and my fiance did this…” OR “Yeah, I went to dinner, my girlfriend couldn’t come…” OR “Yeah, I’m engaged” OR “I hung out alone because my girl had to work.”

NONE OF THAT. WHAT THE FUCK.

So, I obligingly ask about her, because I have to (even though he completely was SO hesitant to even tell me he’s getting married) – she’s JUST GRADUATING FROM COLLEGE. She’s like 22. Goddamn!

AND THEN! THEY ONLY SEE EACH OTHER 2x / WEEK! He said that she’s busy with school and then works at the bar (uh …) and that they only get to hang out the nights she’s home before 2am. According to him, they’re both so career driven and he’s glad about that, because he’s not paying her school loans (which all I could think was, Thank God).

What. The. Fuck.  The only reason they’re still together is because they don’t see each other enough to actually fight. Also, he’s like 26, max. We KNOW how this is going to end.

I’m still stunned, and I don’t know why it bothers me so much. I mean, it doesn’t change anything – I’ll still have my little fantasy about hooking up with him, and he’ll continue to never mention this girl he loves.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

Archives

