currylove

Kids say the darndest things – Part 2

Posted on: March 1, 2013

I just got back from a mini-vacation at my sister’s place. Luckily, there was a blizzard so the kids were out for snow days the whole time I was there.  (On a side note, how is it that I can wake up at 730am no problem when it’s to get up and play with the kids, but when I’m here and trying to get to work on time, I’m always late? )

My little monkeys, now 7 (the girl) and 4 (the boy) are my most favorite things in the world. Their personalities are shining through and they are just awesome to hang out with. They are sweet and funny and naughty and just a joy to be around.

It was my last day and my nephew was sitting in my lap watching cartoons and he says to me:

“Masi, maybe you can make a robot of yourself and make the robot go to work and then you can stay here with us!!”

I almost cried. I would do it in a heartbeat if I could. Hell, I don’t think anyone at work would notice anyway.

So then, today he told my sister the following (he calls my parents Nahna and Nahni, and his dad’s business is closed on Mondays):

“Mommy, maybe when we drop Nahna and Nahni at the air-pote on Monday, we can pick up Masi because it’s Monday so she prolly doesn’t have to work!”

I almost cried again when she told me that.

My niece is just as awesome – she was helping us make puri and my brother’s new wife (non-Indian) wanted to do it for the first time.

So my sister-in-law says to my niece (and now her niece):

“Look, we’re learning how to make puri together!”

And my niece says, completely unfazed and not stopping what she’s doing:

“I’m not learning. I already knew how to make them.”

HAHAHA. And it’s true! We have her on video helping us at the age of 2!

And then, they were both fascinated with my nose ring. I took it out for them so they could see it was just like an earring, and my nephew says:

“Can you breathe without it?!?!”

Adorable.  That also reminded me of when my niece was younger, about 4 herself and we were playing this alphabet game on the computer – she set it up for me to play with her but before she handed it over, she asked:

“Um…do you know your capital AND lower case letters?”

I loved that she double-checked – why assume that someone would know anything? Such a good life lesson, honestly.

I wish they lived closer so I could see them all the time, but I’ll take every second with them that I can get.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

Archives

