currylove

Arranging Marriages – Part 32 (aka, Why is this so confusing?)

Posted on: August 7, 2013

My parents are visiting me for two weeks and I’m loving it. Mom has chai ready for me every morning in my to-go cup, and my lunch is packed and ready as I walk out the door. When I get home, Dad’s fixed everything that needs to be fixed, Mom’s got dinner on the table and my laundry’s been washed and folded and on my bed just waiting for me. Ahhhh. This is the life!

But, I don’t love them just because they’re doing stuff for me, of course. It’s so nice to just have them around  – we’re having a lot of fun together… I don’t know if my parents have always been so funny or if we just get along now better since we’re all older.  But whatever it is, I’m happy they came to visit. I told them they should do it more often.

However, just because they’re visiting doesn’t mean their well-intentioned honey-hunting on my behalf stops.  Oh no… that just keeps truckin’ along. And with my magic ring, every one is convinced things will be easier.

So my aunt called my mom with news about this woman she works with, who has a son my age, who’s also ‘searching.’ My mom gets her number, talks to this guy’s mom and then tells me the following:

Her: “So you’ll email each other on Thursday.”

Me: “Ok, so is he going to send his biodata first?”

Her: “I’ll call his mom.”

Me (super confused): “…….ok, so is he emailing first?”

Her: “I’ll call her on Thursday and we’ll talk,  then he’ll email you and you’ll email him at the same time.”

Me: “Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaa………… Why can’t he just send his stuff first?”

Her: “Because this is what we decided. Same-same time.”

HOLY FUCKING HELL. I NOW HAVE TO PARTICIPATE IN SYNCHRONIZED EMAILING.

Just when you think this shit can’t get any weirder, it does.

So….. tomorrow night I guess I’ll be emailing this boy at the same time he’s emailing me. Because that makes all the sense in the world.

 

 

2 Responses to "Arranging Marriages – Part 32 (aka, Why is this so confusing?)"

Wow. I thought my mom could be pushy sometimes, but at least she’s just obsessed with grand kids.

Yeah… its just a part of being indian 🙂 I love that they care, you know?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers

Archives

