currylove

Arranging Marriages – Part 33 (aka, That was quick)

Posted on: August 16, 2013

The synchronized emailing never happened.  He emailed me first, actually.

I, having done this a thousand times, could tell from his email he was only doing this to please his mom. And I was already annoyed. It was a quick intro, just a few sentences, with some pics. So I sent the same type of email back to him.

He didn’t write back until a few days later, at 730am, from his iphone. It was clearly one of those “Get this done” type of emails. The kind you write at work to just check it off your to-do list so you can move on with the rest of your day.

I decided that I just wanted to know, up front, if this was going to go anywhere, so this is what I emailed him:

So, I hope you don’t think this is rude, but I just want to make sure you’re really interested in talking and getting to know each other.

I’ve been set up with too many guys who are only open to introductions because they want to get their parents off their back and be able to tell their mom that they’re talking to someone. So if you’re dating someone, or are focused on work, or just got out of a relationship or don’t want to meet someone through your mom or are just not interested for whatever reason, that’s totally cool – please just let me know,  I’d rather not waste both of our time.

And if you do want to chat, that’d be great.

I hope you understand where I’m coming from – I don’t know how often your parents try to set you up, but mine try all the time, so I’ve encountered all of the above.  😉

He took a few days, but responded:

Ok so I’ll cut to the chase and I’m glad you’re being honest because I’ll be honest with you I’ve done the long distance thing and I really don’t want to do it again it was just too much for me to handle. You’re right I was trying to get them off my back.  I apologize but I’m just being honest too.  Like you said we shouldn’t waste each others time cause trust me I know exactly where you’re coming from this isn’t the first time they’ve tried either and probably won’t be the last. Well I guess that’s all I got so good luck in your search and good luck in your future endeavors!

 

Points to him for being honest, and MAJOR points to me for cutting through the crap in just a few days.

 

But then… I had to tell my parents. It was just me and mom in the kitchen when I mentioned it, and she was actually super cool about it – her response was basically the same as mine: at least we know without wasting so much time.

 

But my dad… we’re sitting at the table having our morning chai, and mom says, “Oh, CurryLove got a response from that boy” which was my prompt to then tell dad what the guy said.

 

Dad was silent for a few seconds, and then goes: “…. Stupid.”

 

I fell out laughing. Mom and I both pointed out that it’s better this way, and Dad says, “Well, why couldn’t he just tell his mom he didn’t want to talk to you?”

 

And I rolled my eyes. Because this is like the 30th boy who’s done this shit, how hasn’t he figured it out yet that this is how they are? A bunch of pussy assholes who can’t speak up for themselves and instead of holding their own ground and putting forth their ideas and opinions, they go along with whatever their parents want because it’s easier for them that way.

 

At least I’ve earned a short reprieve. I’m sure as soon as they get home they’ll be canvassing the world for eligible boys. Till then though… Bliss. 🙂

 

2 Responses to "Arranging Marriages – Part 33 (aka, That was quick)"

Where are all the men gone?

If I could answer that, trust me, I’d share that info!!!!! This generation of guys is just disappointing.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers

Archives

