currylove

Arranging Marriages – Part 34 (aka, Ugggggghhhhhhhhhh)

Posted on: September 17, 2013

So I’ve been pretty quiet lately. Not because anything great was happening, but because I was traveling for work to places with fuck-all wifi connections. But, I’m back and jet lagged and ready to write about my non existent love life.

Checking email at 4am this morning, I saw that some guy emailed me and started with an apology, “Hey CurryLove, Sorry, Thought I’d responded to your email before….”

Apparently, I’d emailed this guy (at the behest of my parents, of course) before my work trips had started and never heard from him. I’d truly forgotten about him completely.  I was impressed that he’d gone through emails and realized he hadn’t responded, but I was suspicious about how/why that happened.

I just called home and Dad says, “Did you see that email from that guy?”  (Since I started CC’ing my dad on my initial intro emails to prove that I’m truly trying, I guess he copied both of us back.)

Then Dad goes on to tell me that apparently his matrimonial ad was in the paper, my aunt saw it and called the corresponding number. She talked to his mom, AND THAT IS WHAT PROMPTED HIM TO WRITE ME.

It wasn’t that he forgot or thought he’d emailed before – it was completely because his mom called him on his shit.

SO THEN. Because these stories are always like this, Dad goes on to tell me that his mom told my aunt that he (the boy) was married for just two weeks, and that he’d gone to India to get married. EVEN THOUGH HE DIDN’T WANT TO! He thought it was a bad idea, his mom thought it was a bad idea, BUT HIS DAD WANTED HIM TO DO IT. SO HE DID.

Mother. Fucking. Hell.

Please tell me WHY I would want to marry (or date) this guy who had such non-descended balls that he let his dad push him into a marriage he didn’t want? WHY WHY WHY would I want that in my life?

But, my Dad, being cute as usual, told my aunt to tell his mom that this was going to be my and his decision, after we talked.

In this case, I’m actually really grateful for that stupidly obvious disclaimer because his parents are probably waiting to push him into his second marriage.

5 Responses to "Arranging Marriages – Part 34 (aka, Ugggggghhhhhhhhhh)"

Hi Lady,

Just thought I’d let you know, little Carli was born last week and I am SO in love with her. I closed down my blog, for various reasons, bul still reading about your escapades. Much love. XxX

I was *just* thinking about you!!!! Kisses from across the world to your precious baby girl 🙂 I am so happy for you! Definitely drop a note when you can so I know you’re doing well, though I think you’ll be preoccupied for a while 🙂

So happy you’re back!

Thanks so much!!!! Don’t think I haven’t been reading your escapades – stupid internet overseas just wouldn’t let me respond to anything, I was lucky just to open them in my email! Can’t wait to read more stories, though maybe a break is in order? 😉

I know… sometimes I feel like that and sometimes I don’t. Stuff just keeps happening! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

Archives

