currylove

Kids say the darndest things – Part 3

Posted on: February 26, 2014

Spent some time with my sister and her family… at this rate, I’m gonna have to count on her kids taking care of me as well as her, so I try really hard to be their favorite aunt šŸ˜‰

Luckily, they’re easy kids to love. She’s 8 now, and he’s 5, and I adore them and discipline them, but shit…. WHERE do they get the energy? When we play “Simon says” I do things like, “Simons says touch your nose, touch your toes, touch your hair…”

What do they say?

“Simon says…. run around the room two times and then hop on one foot.”

Um, no. This Simon will have a heart attack if she does it. I always lose when one of them is Simon.

And, the little boy is SUCH a little boy. He tries to get away with things my little girl never did… when he says naughty words, she tells on him, and I try to trick her into saying them to:

Her: “He said bad words!”

Me: “What’d he say???”

Her: just looks at me, giggling

Him: “I said: STUPID. DUMB. AND SHUT UP.”

And I shouldn’t laugh, and I try super hard not to, but he’s so proud and giggling and she’s laughing, so while I tell him not to say those things, I know it holds no water because I’m laughing too.

The last day I was there, they were playing Legos, and he says to her:

“If you don’t give me the piece I want, you’ll have a big fat butt forever.”

My sister and I, eating breakfast just a little ways away from them, both (quietly) bust out laughing. And my little niece started to cry.Ā  And I can’t be mad at her for crying, but he’s not a wizard, so really, she’s not going to have a big fat butt forever. Stop crying.

We of course told him not to say things like that, but yeah… I think he just does what he wants. He’s much more of a “Better to apologize later than ask first” kind of boy. And she’s more of a rule-follower.

A couple of days ago, we were skyping and they were jumping up and down on their new trampoline (and not of breath and talking at the same time. ARGH!) – and she got off so he could have his turn, and when she wanted her turn… nope. He didn’t get off.Ā  In fact, he LAID DOWN ACROSS the trampoline so she couldn’t jump. She rightly went and told and I yelled at him, not laughing this time, and he just giggled.

And the thing is, they’re treated the same. They’re disciplined for the same things. They have the same rules. She just follows them, and he sometimes doesn’t. Don’t get me wrong, they’re both REALLY good kids, very well behaved (in public, home is different, of course), understand right from wrong, and are both really sensitive and caring. But he’ll totally test the waters, and she won’t.

Recently, he told me:

“I hate girls”

And I said,

“That’s not nice…I’m a girl, your mommy is a girl, your sister is a girl, your grandmothers are girls, you don’t like them? “

And I watched his wheels turn as he tried to explain:

“Well, I don’t hate girls. I like girls. But I don’t want to play with them.”

And then soon after that, he told me he couldn’t eat his sister’s birthday cake because it was pink.

Because of course she had a huge pink cake (which she was upset with because the display cake showed a big queen’s crown, and instead it came with a pink tiara, and she already has princess tiara’s so that’s not what she wanted) and of course he couldn’t eat it.

And of course, when her birthday came, she was fine with the cake and he ate a piece, regardless of the color.

They’re the epitome of “boys being boys” and “girls being girls” – and I love watching them grow up, seeing how they change and seeing their personalities really start to come alive. Maybe one day I’ll be able to give them cousins to play with šŸ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers

Archives

