currylove

Arranging Marriages – Part 44 (aka, Nope, totally not giving up)

Posted on: August 7, 2014

A couple of days ago, Mom and I were talking and she says to me that she talked to my Dad about me possibly adopting. He had concerns, of course, and apparently said to Mom:

Just tell her to find someone and move in with them.

 

Ummmmmmmmmmmmm……..sure. Like that’s so f’ing easy. But you know, I’ll go with that plan because it seems easier than the marriage one. And the adoption one.

AND THEN. TODAY.

Mom and I were talking again, and I brought up going to India like we’d been discussing. I thought they were both on board with the idea for a winter trip…. and then Mom says that Dad doesn’t want to go, because all anyone talks about is me not being married.

ARGH! I THOUGHT WE WERE PAST THIS!

AND THEN. Mom takes the conversation to boys, or course.

Her:

Are you talking to anyone?

Me:

No.

Her:

You know, everyone can’t be weird.You have to give people a chance! Maybe they’re better in person than they are on email.

Me:

MOM! I give SO many guys chances, even all the weirdos. My friends agree with me! I make sure I’m not being picky!

Her:

Well, maybe they think you’re weird? Maybe you’re the strange one? I’m just saying give them a chance. You never know.

 

Clearly, she doesn’t know about ALL the guys I’ve ever talked to/dated/got stood up by, so I understand why she thinks I’m not trying hard enough.

Maybe I should just send her the link to this blog.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 280 other followers

Archives

