currylove

Yes, I know it’s me.

Posted on: October 5, 2014

So last week, my trainer brought his little girls with him while we worked out (I LOVE when they come… they make training so much more joyful!) – anyway, his older daughter is 6 and as we were setting up to get started she asks me:

Is there a Mr. Currylove?

Me (taken aback):

No! There’s not. I”m not married and don’t have kids either. That’s why I can afford to pay your dad. 😉

(I don’t think she got the joke…)

Her:

Do you have a boyfriend?

Me (taken even more aback):

No. I don’t. HOW do you know what a boyfriend even is?!?!?!

Her:

Our teacher had a picture on the smartboard and someone asked who it was and she told us it was her boyfriend.

Ok, so I don’t even know what a smartboard is, but why is their teacher discussing her boyfriend? She couldn’t just say friend? Call me a prude, but I think that’s just inappropriate in the first grade. Hmph.

 

SO THEN… last night, I went to a party at a friend’s place.  Ended up chatting to their married neighbor, and I mentioned how much dating in this city sucks.

He turns me around and says:

You’re not fat. You’re not ugly. You’re clearly smart. The problem is you, because you should have like 7 guys on your roster.

Me:

I KNOW I SHOULD!!! BUT THAT DOESN’T HAPPEN!

Him:

So, what are you doing wrong?

And he’s right – it has to be me because it can’t always be the guy… but I DON’T KNOW what I’m doing wrong.

I try to be open. I try to be understanding. I try to get past differences… but even all of that doesn’t seem to be helping.

A little earlier in the night, another friend of a friend, a mechanic, had been hitting on me and asked for my number. So, in the spirit of openness, I gave it to him, but already I hoped he wouldn’t call.

Honestly… he’s not my type physically. He’s not ugly, but he’s not my type. I definitely don’t want to have sex with him, so what’s the point?

And it’s already too much with the “sweetie” and “baby” and kisses on the cheek. Just ewww.

Seriously, I shouldn’t already be grossed out by this guy touching me if I’m planning on actually going to dinner with him. That’s just mean on my part.

The only thing that made me super excited was he said,

Do you know you look just like Salma Hayek?

I DO! I DO KNOW! I like it when other people in their drunken haze realize it too. 😉

And then… he says to me,

So, just to be honest, money’s kinda low right now so we’ll have to go somewhere cheap for dinner.

Here’s the thing, that doesn’t bother me really, for a date. But for the long run? No. That’s not acceptable.

So, yeah. It is me. I’m obviously doing something wrong, but I don’t know what the fuck it is — because there was a smart/cute/single guy at the party.

HE DID NOT TALK TO ME.

 

6 Responses to "Yes, I know it’s me."

You could have talked to him…

Not sure i follow. ..Talked to who? The mechanic? I did.

Your last paragraph Hun… The smart/cute/single guy at the party, if he didn’t talk to you, you could have approached him?

Oh right – after my friend pointed him out, he left soon after. Never got the chance. Next time!

Wow. I feel like I’m reading about my own life… I think it’s me too. Just found your blog and am loving it! I think I’ll write more post about my ‘getting married’ problems

I am sorry you also have to go through this crap!! Lol. But we’re not alone, that’s for sure. Thanks for finding me! I’m excited to read about your adventures too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers

Archives

